ZC sports therapy

Training & Nutrition blog

‘Time on your feet’

Leave a comment

Stanmer Woods

 

Now I’ve done the longest run on this training programme which was 22 miles of the 3 forts, I’m just going out to do ‘time on your feet’ runs. Not looking at pace or distance so much but how long you’re running for.

Did a relatively sedate 2 hours through Stanmer Woods today. Avoiding the South Downs this week as my Achilles took a bashing after 22 miles of hills in the last.

Into the last section of this 27 miles training and I can’t help feeling a little inferior to those friends I have who are ultra runners of 50 and 100 miles. I said to someone earlier this week that he started somewhere. He wasn’t just able to go and run 100 miles. He’s done 50’s to build up. The fact he is an ex Royal Marine also helps. Significantly. His ability to deal with pain is quite different from mine. Military conditioning.  If I could learn some of the coping techniques from him, I reckon I’d be a better long distance trail runner. I’ll have to ask!

I’ve never run more than 13 miles last year and swore I wouldn’t, and here am I being cajoled into contemplating a 30 miler called the Doyen of the Downs later this year, that’s after I’ve gone to the Lake District and done another trail marathon in July.

Ultra runners. They’re like dealers pushing their gear. Run this 30 miles race it’ll be so much fun….so you do and then what. You’re hooked! Damn them.

The woods today were just springing into life. The trees smelt wonderful! Wish the MTBers would stop creeping up on me though giving me heart seizures! Pesky bikers.

 

 

 

Author: ZCsportstherapy

ZCsportstherapy @zcsportstherapy Medical Acupuncturist, Clinical Sport & Remedial Soft Tissue Therapist, ASA Level 2 Swimming Teacher, RLSS UK Pool Lifeguard, Lover of running up hills. Brighton, East Sussex · zcsportstherapy.co.uk

Leave a Reply

