ZC sports therapy

Training & Nutrition blog

Been a long time, been a long time…

Leave a comment

So I have not written anything for about a month. Not since week 4 of the Low GI Sports Nutrition plan. Well, It’s been an educational roller coaster of a ride.

My first question is, why did I not know about the Low GI way of eating, and why did I not grasp the concept of ‘Eating Clean’, some 20 or so years ago?

I could have been such a great runner, if only I’d known! Well, I’m not doing too badly considering I’m the wrong side of 35 and making up for lost time.

Week 8 of the Low GI way of eating; I no longer call it a diet, is coming to a close at the end of this week. My whole view-point about food has done a complete 360. Food for fuel, food for sustenance and food for enjoyment. It would be a complete impossibility for me to revert back to the ‘old way’ of eating, not now I feel this great!

It amazes me how people I know have tried out various ‘diets’ that promise to make them lose weight. Bizarre fad style eating that sees people exhausted and looking like something from a left over Halloween party. What’s the point of that?

Low GI and Eating Clean makes perfect sense to me. I eat every 3 hours, and I continue to shed the unnecessary fat, getting leaner whilst feeling stronger and fitter than I ever have done. Along with a new way of eating I have started to become more clever in the way I train. Being specific about what I want to achieve and not just forcing myself to go out for a run or swim because “I really should”.

I have a client who is a Triathlon coach. With his help I have set specific goals for 2013. I want to be a better, more technical and faster swimmer. I enjoy Aquathlons and don’t want to be at the back of the swim pack. So clever training in the pool along with other training sessions carefully spread out over the week, mean a less tired me and more focused me.

I would say the hardest thing about cleaning up my diet and the way I see food, has been other people’s response to the ‘new me’.  For the most part people have been very positive about what I am doing and have given great affirming compliments, which has really helped me. However, others have reacted differently to the fact I barely drink alcohol any more, and have cut out a lot of food I used to eat. I suspect my new-found passion for nutrition has made them look at their own drinking and eating habits, and perhaps it makes them feel uncomfortable?

Most people are interested in what a low GI way of eating is, and what is Eating Clean? I love to talk about it because it’s only two months old in my life, I am no expert and so am learning every day.

I totally accept that I may never be asked to someone’s house for a meal again, faced with having a dinner guest who has turned a corner and will not be happy with a plate of old slop covered in cheese. After all, that is what vegetarians eat, isn’t it, plates full of pasta and cheese? Actually you may as well give us veggies a plate of potatoes, white pasta, white rice and pour a load of white sauce over the top of it. We’ll be happy with that. Oh and we’ll have some white sliced bread with it whilst you’re there. Thanks. Sorry to be a nuisance.

(I am more than aware that this blog update in turning into a bit of a rant.)

I am able to make informed and educated decisions about what I eat. If my choices upset you, or you think I am ‘fussy’ or ‘being difficult’, thanks for the offer to supper, but I shall decline.

The inches lost and the energy gained from this way of eating, makes me a total convert. It makes so much sense. It’s not a diet or a fad. It’s so simple. Yes you need to be organised and carry food around with you all the time, but for me, it’s the way forward.

Thanks for reading. Sorry if I ranted a little too much!

Author: ZCsportstherapy

ZCsportstherapy @zcsportstherapy Medical Acupuncturist, Clinical Sport & Remedial Soft Tissue Therapist, ASA Level 2 Swimming Teacher, RLSS UK Pool Lifeguard, Lover of running up hills. Brighton, East Sussex · zcsportstherapy.co.uk

Leave a Reply

