ZC sports therapy

Training & Nutrition blog

Start of week 3:

1 Comment

So at the start of week three how am I feeling? Well, lighter, faster, more energised and ‘cleaner’.

I ran a cross country route yesterday with some fellow runners, and at the end of the run I had some compliments about how much faster I was, in comparison to last time. I have been doing more hill running, because as tough as it is on my lungs made of mud, it’s the only way to improve your over all stamina and strength. Favouring off road rather than bashing my feet on the hard concrete roads. However, feeling lighter has had an effect not only in my physical ability but also psychologically.

Measurements this morning showed another half an inch of the waist and hips etc. That’s an nearly two inches already. I have weighed myself at the gym, but I don’t really value body weight as a true indicator because muscle, is heavier than fat, and I love to lift weights!

I have noticed in the evenings after my meal, that I do crave sugary sweet foods. Chocolate, sweets, fizzy drinks, booze! I asked Michelle why this was, and her answer was….coffee!

Now I only have one cup a day, and thought that would not have an affect on me late a night?! Here’s what Michelle said in reply to this:

“Caffeine stays in your system for 12 hours and causes an insulin surge as it mimics the effect of sugar. When it runs out it creates a bloody sugar dip which is fine if you are easting something, but when you’re not it can cause that feeling of emptiness in your stomach and cravings. ”

Well I never…..the one cup in the morning was responsible for me craving those Minstrels and Sprite late at night!?

Author: ZCsportstherapy

ZCsportstherapy @zcsportstherapy Medical Acupuncturist, Clinical Sport & Remedial Soft Tissue Therapist, ASA Level 2 Swimming Teacher, RLSS UK Pool Lifeguard, Lover of running up hills. Brighton, East Sussex · zcsportstherapy.co.uk

One thought on “Start of week 3:

  1. interesting re: the coffee….. My weight gain coincides with me starting to drink coffee at 40. Prior to that I had been the same weight since I was 16, give or take a kg.

Leave a Reply

